All Rise….Court is in Session

Standard

10507509025_6a4c7f79f8_o

So, a very close family member has decided to block me on Facebook and therefore remove themselves from my life, which in my opinion is a very immature and inappropriate response. Here’s my take on it, and please allow me my soapbox moment:

Just because I sin differently than you do, because yes, you DO sin, doesn’t mean that I’m any less of a person than you are.

Just because I am not active in church or I don’t read the Bible everyday, does not mean that I’m destined for hell and that I’m an evil person.

Just because I don’t live my life according to your strict standards does not mean that I’m a bad person or that I am horrible.

Just because I say an occasional curse word, or have tattoos or drink alcoholic beverages does not mean that I am any less of a Christian who deserves any more severe of a punishment than any other sinner in this world.

Yes, I’ve made unwise decisions in life. WE ALL HAVE! I’ve not always chosen the best path in life. I’ve not always followed the “prescribed plan” for a Christian. But you know what? Neither have you!

So before you go making judgments about me and my life, take a long hard look at your own heart. Do you look down on someone for being different than you or living a life that is different than you? Do you think you are better than another person because you live a perfect (in your own eyes) life that is fully in line with the Bible?

My boyfriend sent me this text when I told him about the situation, and he summed up pretty quickly my thoughts on this:
“Perhaps you should remind her that Jesus died for everyone’s sins, not just hers. And that Christ was most compassionate to some of the biggest sinners. Christians are supposed to reach a hand out to people “living in sin” not turn their nose. Especially family.”

He hit the nail right on the head! It is not your place or my place to judge the actions or lifestyle of others. Sure, you can have your beliefs and your opinions, but you are not the ultimate judge, God is.

Matthew 7:1-5 (The Message)
“Don’t pick on people, jump on their failures, criticize their faults— unless, of course, you want the same treatment. That critical spirit has a way of boomeranging. It’s easy to see a smudge on your neighbor’s face and be oblivious to the ugly sneer on your own. Do you have the nerve to say, ‘Let me wash your face for you,’ when your own face is distorted by contempt? It’s this whole traveling road-show mentality all over again, playing a holier-than-thou part instead of just living your part. Wipe that ugly sneer off your own face, and you might be fit to offer a washcloth to your neighbor.”

Get your own house in order before you start trying to fix other people. Don’t give people advice about how to live their life if you can’t live yours on the straight and narrow.

If you have a problem with me, tell me. If you misunderstand something I have said, ask for clarification. I am only responsible for what I say, not for your interpretation. If I say something perfectly harmless, and you take it the wrong way, that is on YOU. Not me. So if you take offense to what I say, when NO offense was even remotely intended, than you need to look at yourself and deal with your own issues, not project them onto me.

You have made the choice to exclude me from your life. I didn’t make that decision. Instead of talking things out like adults, you have chosen the path of immaturity and insecurity. You have closed the door to reconciliation by removing contact from me. You have made me very well aware of how you are choosing to handle this situation (that I wasn’t fully aware was an actual “situation” but I digress). But also know, that while you have excluded me from your life, you have also chosen to remove my children from your life. Again, this was your choice, not mine. But know this. I will not subject my children to your judgmental attitude and general lack of love to those that are different than you. I will never allow my children to face your spiritual bullying. God loves us just as we are, imperfections included.

And God loves you, despite YOUR sins and imperfections, which you so easily have overlooked in your lifetime. I have peace knowing that I did nothing wrong and am sure of this. I can also have surety and peace in knowing that God loves me. He always has and always will, and I don’t need your approval or blessing to prove that to me otherwise.

One response »

  1. Pingback: When Enough is Enough | The Gift of Gab...Gabby Abby

Leave a Reply

