Reds Reignite Family Passion

Standard

As printed in the 7/9/15 Edition of the Cincinnati Enquirer (During All-Star Game Week)
http://www.cincinnati.com/story/opinion/contributors/2015/07/09/opinion-reds-reignite-family-tradition/29920763/

Baseball has always been a part of my life. As a child growing up in New Hampshire, I watched the Red Sox play at Fenway Park. I saw the home runs fly over the Green “Monstah” while reaching high to the iconic Citco sign.

My mom played in the “Lassie League” when girls weren’t allowed to play on the Little League teams. To this day I can hear my mom tell me during softball season, “Watch the ball hit the bat.” You could say baseball is in my blood.

I’ve lived in the Cincinnati area for the past 11 years, and I can’t think of a better place to create the same memories with my sons Eli, 8, and Ethan, 5. Baseball in Cincinnati is like no other.

My boys had been asking to go to a Reds game for quite a while. So last year, after some time and careful planning, I was able to get us tickets. They weren’t the closest or the best seats at Great American Ball Park, but they were the perfect seats for us. We could see the whole field. We could see the Jumbotron, and we could see the players’ faces and stats.

We could see the fans filling the ballpark, the Cincinnati Bell Riverboat and the scoreboard to keep track of the runs. My boys were in heaven. And so was I. You see, this was not only my boys’ first Reds game, but it was mine, as well. Despite living here 11 years, I hadn’t made it to a single game.

The amazing memories I had growing up suddenly swept over me and I realized all over again what an awesome game baseball is. My love for the sport was back. Dormant for years, all it took was one walk into Great American Ball Park to bring those childhood memories back.

We had an unforgettable time at the game. The Reds won. Devin Mesoraco hit a grand slam, and the fans went crazy. My boys went crazy. They were hooked. They had found a new joy, a new love. It was a memory that I will always have.

As a single mother, I want to afford my boys all the opportunities and good memories in life that they can have, and going to Reds games is exactly that.

Now, going to see the Reds is something my boys and I anticipate, just as much as I looked forward to going to Red Sox games when I was a child. We each have our favorite players. We have our Reds hats, T-shirts, bags and our gloves ready to catch that foul ball hit in our direction. Eli and Ethan are even part of the Reds Heads Kids Club now.

Most important, baseball created a bond between my sons and me that will never strike out. I have the Cincinnati Reds and the great game of baseball to thank for that!
 

20150517_172008

Leave a Reply

